Cupcakes #4

11 May

I remember when the 4 Ingredients ‘fad’ began for me. My Aunty gave me a very uninspiring green covered cook book two Christmases ago and told me this book was a Number 1 seller. Always keen to try new recipes, I picked out some ‘kid friendly’ ones and began my journey of cooking using 4 (sometimes 5) ingredients. Some of these recipes have become part of the weekly dinner rotation in my house and I rarely pick up the book these days.

Last week I saw “4 Ingredients for Kids” so I immediately purchased the book, rushed home & began baking. I made peanut butter cookies,  mars bar slice & clever cupcakes all in an hour and all very successfully. I would love to show you pictures of all three, but unfortunately they were eaten too quickly by my ‘taste testers’!

Here is the recipe for the Clever Cupcakes, which, according to many who ate them, are the ‘heaven of cupcake’.

Clever Cupcakes:

3/4 cup self-raising flour

250 ml condensed milk

1 egg

1/3 cup softened butter

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Sift flour into a bowl and add remaining ingredients. Beat for 2 mins until pale, light and fluffy. Line a cupcake pan with patty papers. Evenly scoop mixture across and bake until light and golden brown (20 mins)

The book also has a section on Handy Home Hints for Kids and Party Games. Wanting to find out more about the 4 ingredients series I went onto their website and discovered they have a 4 ingredients iApp. For $2.99 you can have access to many recipes and only pay an extra $2.99 for a 4 Ingredients recipe book (instead of $15 in store). I love this app and since downloading it have turned to it whenever I have a ‘what’s for dinner’ crisis.

Mother’s Day is on this Sunday 13th May and there are plenty of great offers out there, not just for Mum, but for the whole family. Here are three that I have found:

If you visit Luna Park, Melbourne, on Sunday between 11am-6pm, Mum’s will receive a free Unlimited Ride Pass with any child’s ticket purchase. On top of this the first 100 Mum’s to take up this offer will receive a free Ferrero Rocher gift box. For all the details go here.

7 Eleven are giving away free Kit Kat chocolate bars. All you have to do is go here and ‘like’ their page. They will instantly email you a voucher or MMS one to your phone.

If the weather is not so great on Sunday and you need an activity for the whole family go here and buy tickets for AMF Ten Pin bowling at $7.95 per game.

A fantastic one-stop online shop for all things party is Complete Party Boxes. As the name suggests they sell themed children’s party packages at very reasonable prices. They also sell all party accessories: candles, invitations, meal boxes, decorations etc. by some very refined party makers such as Paper Eskimo, Alannah Rose and The Cupcake Wrapper. If you are looking for something different, I highly suggest you check out their meal boxes. A great idea for serving food without the fuss. Here are some examples: the Pirate meal box and the Princess Carriage meal box.


GIVEAWAY!!

I am very excited about this latest giveaway…I have a copy of the recipe book “4 Ingredients for Kids” to give to one lucky person. All you need to do is tell me what 4 ingredients you could not live without. ‘The panel of judges’ will choose their favourite entry as the winner (note: panel of judges may be my two children). As they say you have to be ‘in it to win it’ so leave your favourite four ingredients in the comment section below. Competition ends Thursday 24th May, winner announced 25th May.

So that’s it for this Cupcake. I would like to remind you that all products mentioned here were because I like them and not because they offer me freebies or pay me (although one or both of these would be nice!)

Jo

Leave a Reply

