Cupcakes #2

20 Apr

Well, it that time of the week again where I share with you all my weekly discoveries for parties. I had a really busy week this week which reminded me of two things when preparing for a party: 1. baking for a party often takes up a lot of time that many people don’t have; and 2. baking from scratch, although often tastier can be really expensive, and use up a lot of the budget, which means less time for other party necessities.

So this week’s challenge was to find yummy cakes and sweets that were quick to make and low on cost.

The White Wings “Choc on Choc” cake was quick & very easy to make. This week it was on special for $4. Apart from the packet mix itself, I only needed to add 1 egg and water. I really like this cake because, unlike other moist packet cakes, there was no oil or butter added. The cake comes with cake mix and icing mix. It took less than 5 minutes to mix and I baked it for 45mins. I sprinkled a Flake chocolate bar on top and served it up to my 8 year old son and his mate on a play date after school. They said it was delicious and washed it down with some “Incredible Hulk”  drinks (lime cordial & sparkling mineral water).

Whilst doing my weekly grocery shopping I came across a Coles supermarket brand of mini cupcakes. Priced at $3.99, I couldn’t resist giving it a go.

 Today I decided to bake the Mini Chocolate Drop Cupcakes. The packet comes with the cake mix, icing mix, 12 cupcake wrappers and choc rainbow drops. I needed to add milk, butter and an egg. This recipe was super easy and I didn’t even need to use the electric beaters (so it cut down on washing up!). The cupcakes took 15 mins to bake and the icing took less than a minute to make. I was really happy that there was a lot of icing for each cupcake as often I find packet mixes skimp on this. The packet made 12 cupcakes, and the taste testers (my two children) thought they were super yummy, particularly the chocolate rainbow drops.

 

Another quick, easy & cheap party dessert to make are the Chocolate Cherry Mousse Cups. There are only three ingredients used in this recipe and the result looks spectacular and is super delicious. They may be more suited to an older birthday party but my 10 year old daughter thinks they are the bomb. You can find the recipe on this site by clicking here.

I have done a lot of ‘window shopping’ this week and have found some fantastic party accessories. The first one looks like a lot of fun to add to any boy’s (or girl’s) party table. It’s called “Captain Ketchup” and is a funl way to serve sauce, in the form of a space gun. It is $11.99 at House.

Another great discovery was the Robert Gordon party range. I purchased the Le Petite Cupcake stand (pack of 6 for 4.95) and the Little Circus Cupcake Flags (pack of 24 for 4.95). I have a great local store called Lavish that sell delightful party accessories including the full range of Robert Gordon.

Do you remember scratch and sniff stickers? I bought these adorable scratch and sniff ice cream flavour stickers (also from Lavish at $1.95 per pack). Strawberry, Vanilla and Choc Mint are three of my favourite ice cream flavours from childhood and bring back lovely memories every time I smell them.

GIVEAWAY!!!

As a special treat I am giving away three packets this week! Simply tell me your favourite ice cream flavour and the first person who matches my daughter’s favourite ice cream flavour wins! Leave your entry in the comments section on my Facebook page which can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/mybdayparty.

So that’s a wrap for this week. As always, I would like to point out I am not paid by any company to endorse products and only ever review or recommend products I have used myself. Until next time, I encourage you to look around the website, buy the ebook and enjoy collecting lots of ideas for your next party.

Jo

Leave a Reply

